My little rainbow

If you wait out the rain, you can find a rainbow….and this is the story of mine.

It started in June of 2015. Jake had just turned 22 on the 1st and we had just moved into a big house with my older sister and my step-brother at the beginning of May. I had switched my birth control, and when I felt a little icky that is what I chalked it up too. It wasn’t until I started having crazy dreams and sore sore boobs that pregnancy had even crossed my mind.  I had no idea when I would have conceived and like I have stated before, I have super irregular periods so I had no idea when to test. I ended up buying a test and taking it on the morning of June 13 right before my sister and I had left for SummerFest. The test I bought was just a standard Clearblue plus pregnancy test, and when I had taken it, it turned negative right away and the control strip turned blue so I knew it had worked. Since it turned negative right away and no one knew I was testing, I threw the test in the garbage and went to the parade.

About 5 hours later, we went home and I had to go to the bathroom. I sat down and looked to my left and my stomach sank……there sitting in the garbage was my pregnancy test…only it wasn’t how I had left it. There was a faint faint faint plus sign where there was a negative sign. I immediately started googling things and came up with a bunch of articles saying it was an evaporation line and that is why the test says not to read results after the specific time on the test. I called my sister in and I asked her what she thought. She was shocked but told me to just wait it out. We walked out and the first thing my step-brother says is “You’re pregnant aren’t you.” I guess when one girl calls another into a bathroom and they both walk out with looks on their faces like they had just seen a ghost….you kinda know something is up. After more reading on the internet (seriously why do I do that to myself) I convinced myself it was just an evap line.

As a few days past, I was only getting sicker and I couldn’t even shower without wanting to cry because my boobs were so sore! I decided to get another test and I got a Clearblue Plus test and a First Response test. I took the test at 4:30 am on June 16…..I took the test and it only took 10 seconds for it to turn positive. The rush of emotions from shocked to thrilled to HOLY SHIT I AM PREGNANT flooded my body. I kept thinking of Jake sleeping in the next room. I really wanted to tell him in a cute way but it was too early to think of something off the top of my head and I couldn’t keep it in that long. I went back into the bedroom and waited till 6:00 when he would wake up for work….there was no going back to sleep for me. His alarm started going off and he, of course, pushed snooze….I couldn’t take it anymore. I woke him up and waited for him to actually wake up a little bit. I was sitting up on the bed just looking at him and he asked why I was so awake this early…..I grabbed the tests and I held them up and said: “You are gonna be a daddy!” That woke him up!! After our mini freak out session, he had to go to work……all day without telling anyone that there was a little baby in my belly! I felt so bad for telling him like that knowing he had to go to work but I was too anxious.

Displaying 20150617_042024.jpg         Displaying 1434834281522.jpg

We told my parents 4 days later with cute little notes with pacifiers attached. They weren’t surprised and they were so excited for us.

Displaying 20150620_145624.jpg

Fathers day was the next day and so we figured we would tell his dad and stepmom on Fathers day. They were so happy for us!

Displaying .facebook_1485802517342.jpg

I told the rest of my family that day as well since they were at my parent’s place for fathers day. It was definitely a day to remember.

We scheduled our first appointment for July 16, 2015, and we got our very first sonogram. Part of me was excited and part of me was terrified because the last time I had laid down on that table….there was no heartbeat. This time, however, our little peanut was healthy and my levels were amazing. We found out our due date was February 22, 2016, and my heart sank. The baby I had lost literally almost a year ago to the day, had a due date of February 20, 2015….almost a year apart from each other.

Displaying 1437065232207.jpg

As the appointments rolled by, I was getting bigger and bigger. Everyone thought it was twins, but baby just had a big ole water park in my belly. We had my sisters do a gender reveal and on October 11, 2015, we found out we were having a baby boy!!! My pregnancy went amazing and other than having a bunch of morning sickness all the time and being constantly uncomfortable from how big I was…..it was a very healthy pregnancy.

Flash forward to 3 AM February 23, 2016….my contractions started getting more frequent and I had a feeling that today would be the day. I tried to get back to sleep but I couldn’t get comfortable so I just laid in bed watching TV and waited for Jake to wake up. He woke up around 7 and I told him that we should probably go to the hospital in a couple of hours. After laboring at home for 3 more hours, we went in at 10:00 and got checked in. I was soooo hoping they would keep me there as I had gone in a few times before and got sent home. They checked my fluid and told me it wasn’t my water breaking but they were going to keep me anyway since my contractions were getting closer. I remember my nurse saying “You aren’t leaving here until you have a baby in your arms” and I couldn’t contain my excitement. My OB came in and they wanted to do a quick ultrasound to make sure baby was still head down. He was worried that if he had flipped, they would have to do an emergency c-section since I had already lost a baby they didn’t want to chance it. Mind you this baby was head down since before week 20…..it definitely would have been my luck that he would have flipped the day I get admitted to the hospital. After a quick ultrasound though, it was confirmed that he was still head down, but he was so far down that my membranes were too taut and my water wouldn’t break on its own. Ugh great!

Since I hadn’t really had much water that morning, they put me on IV drip of saline to keep me hydrated. Unfortunately, my body didn’t like the saline and I was throwing up a lot. I had completely forgotten to eat that morning so when they told me I was on the hospital diet (ice chips) I was not happy. Not like a could have kept it down anyway, but it definitely sucked! It was a long day of contractions but I finally got my epidural and let me tell you, that thing is a LIFE SAVER!!! After that, I felt like I could do this all day……only my stubborn baby took that literally. At 11:00 pm that night I finally got to start pushing. I pushed for 2 hours and my OB had to suction his head out since he wasn’t moving.

At 12:57 am on February 24, 2016, after 24 hours of labor, Jake and I welcomed a beautiful baby boy into this world. He weighed 8lbs 14 oz, 21 inches long and we named him Lucas James Muchow. He was perfect. (he also shares a birthday with my uncle)

Displaying Snapchat-8849533719359760777.jpg Displaying Snapchat-2661263809497151207.jpg Displaying IMG_20160414_234246.jpg Displaying Snapchat-8612471695978181432.jpg

As I am writing this, Luke is chasing the dogs around the house and giggling like crazy. My baby isn’t really a baby anymore…..He turns one in less than a month and this year went by all too fast! Everyone says don’t blink…..well I blinked and he has all of the sudden went from being my sleepy, cuddly infant to a nonstop, full blown person with a mind and personality of his own. Life is a little crazier now. He likes to get into everything, my house is a little messier and I have little time for myself. But my house is filled with more laughter, my days are more exciting and I have more love in my heart than I ever thought possible. Being a mother has changed me and shaped me into a better human being and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. There are days where I feel like I am failing and I just break down. There are tears, sleepless nights and days without showers….but one smile from that cute little face of his and every bad thing melts away. He was definitely the calm at the end of my storm…..my little rainbow baby!

Displaying IMG_20170126_222103_915.jpg Displaying Snapchat-976492509.jpg

Leave a Reply

